Fit For A Scrooge: Miser’s Purses

As I was looking on Etsy for tatting shuttles, I stumbled upon some vintage coin purses.  They’re called miser’s purses because the opening is so small you must “pinch your pennies” to get them out of the bag.

Black Country Museums' photos via Getty Images

Made in knitting, netting, and crochet, they were often elaborately beaded, and can range in size from 4″ to 36″ long.

Here are some I found, Purse #1 and Purse #2 and Purse #3.  I like #2 and #3 best, how about you?

There certainly seems to be a lot of variety in these purses.  A search for “miser’s purse” yields quite a few pictures.

French miser's purses, early 19thC, beaded and netted. - The Book of Costume, Vol. II

I am trying to resist the urge to make a miser’s purse until I have finished some other projects.

In the news:  I received my copy of The Dressmaker’s Guide: 1840-1865 2nd Edition!  I love it!  I was looking out the window about every five minutes until it came on Saturday.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, Historical

One response to “Fit For A Scrooge: Miser’s Purses

  1. I’m having a Civil War purse knit-along sometime. I don’ t think we will be trying miser purses yet as a lot of the participants are beginners. I think many people are having an overload of projects because most people don’t want to start it until June. I’d love it if you would participate.

Leave a Reply

